Advice Needed: 1st time rider & 1st Bike - Honda RC51 Forum : RC51 Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-07-2010, 03:21 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Advice Needed: 1st time rider & 1st Bike

I'm selling my track car and was offered a trade for a 2003 RC15, great condition (so he says), with 5600 miles on it. I will be checking out the bike soon, so I would like some advice.

What is this bike worth?
What mechanical problems should I look for?
Is there any special maintenance I need to do?
Recommendations for/against this as a first bike?
Any additional advice you would like to send my way.

I just got my moto license and was looking at R6s until this offer came my way. Unfortunately, I know next to nothing about these bikes. I'm a pretty mature driver so I know to respect the bike, so the additional power over an R6 doesn't really concern me - just the handling/weight. Thanks for any replies in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-07-2010, 03:34 PM
Site Sponsor

Worth is hard to answer... if in good stock shape, $3K to $5K absolute highest. If it's got actual goodies on it (aftermarket parts), not crap like 6 shooter bar ends, price could go up.
Mechanical problems: no, they are bulletproof. If it idles, shifts and runs like it should, you should be fine. There are wear and tear items of course, but mechanically they are a very good bike.
Maintenance: valve adjustments at 15K and routine items (LOF, fluids).