New rider, new bike - Honda RC51 Forum : RC51 Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-11-2011, 10:57 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
New rider, new bike

I'm new to motorcycles, took the MSF course and got the license last year. I actually didn't get to finish the MSF course due to a death in the family, and ended up testing at the license station on a borrowed 1995 CBR900. I rode it all last season, racked up about 4500 miles, and feel pretty good on it, but still have great respect for the power that bike produces, and am still wary of unleashing it. Anyway, I've always been a fan of the RC bikes, and the RC51 is just drop dead gorgeous and has a bad ass sound like no other. Am I nuts for looking to buy one?

Oh yeah, name's Eric, long time lurker here, finally registered and have a real reason to post. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-11-2011, 11:28 PM

Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Welcome Eric.
No, you're not nuts for wanting to buy one.
We all had various reasons we wanted to own one.

I myself enjoy mine because it's more visceral to me than the more sanitized bikes these days.
More late 60s muscle car than 21st century supercar.
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-12-2011, 07:10 AM
Lifetime Premium

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
I love SBK and therefore feel the need to fill my garage with streetversions and twins are where my heart truly lies, they aren't the "fastest" bike out there but they are a bit more rare, hold some racing heritage, and have a deep character most jap I4's lack.