Which bike to get rid of.....? - Honda RC51 Forum : RC51 Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-23-2011, 03:21 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Which bike to get rid of.....?

So the time has come that I will have to trim down my small fleet to only one bike. I used to have three bikes: an '02 RC51, an '03 R1, and an '05 ZX636. I already got rid of the R1, and as much as it pains me to do it, I'm going to have to get rid of one more. The question is: Do I keep the RC or the ZX?

Here's the catch: I want to start doing more trackdays. I've been to one already on the R1, so I'm still kind of new to the whole track thing, but I would like to get to (realistically) two track days per year.

My concerns are these:
Is the RC51 really approachable for track days? Would it be a little easier starting on the 636? Not referring to power difference so much as the weight and suspension difference.

Is it harder to turn quick lap times on the RC or the 636? Which bike do you think will be quicker overall(negating any effect of a long straightaway)

I would really love to keep the RC51, but I feel that for spirited or track riding, I sort of prefer the feeling of a lighter, more nimble bike.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-23-2011, 11:07 AM
Old & Slow Admin

By far, the 636 will be the easier bike to ride on the track and stock vs stock, it will kill a RC51.
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-23-2011, 04:30 PM

you will def want the 636 for trackdays since parts are cheaper and more readily available if you ever get the urge to start upgrading it (or worse, crash).

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-23-2011, 05:44 PM Thread Starter