• 1 Post By budoka
  • 1 Post By budoka

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-25-2018, 11:56 AM Thread Starter
Lifetime Premium

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Been a While

so I've been away from here for a while (OK a long while) but just wanted to let some of you know I'm still kicking (literally and figuratively). Much has evolved and it has been a bit of a roller coaster ride since my off last fall. The healing went well on my broken bones, and the bike repairs went pretty well too. I'm no body mechanic so a close look shows the flaws in my technique at fiberglass repair but unless you're right up close it's not all that shabby. I may try and smooth out some of the rough spots over the winter but I have a fork rebuild that's 1st on the list and maybe some brake upgrades.
My father-in-law passed this spring and at about the same time I was diagnosed with melanoma. Double whammy there but the pathology turned out well (so far) after the surgical removal procedure and I do a follow-up in October.
My first weekend back at the track was not unexpected, but I was hoping for less nerves. But I discovered the lack of confidence level was a detriment to both myself and the other riders so I dialed it back from intermediate to novice again. The closing speeds of the other riders in group 2 was way more than I was capable of handling and would be for a good while to come, so I chose the better part of valor. But as the season progressed things began to fall back into place and by the end of August I was running faster and cleaner than I was before the crash. With one more session before season's end I was eagerly looking forward to the September's meet.