RC51 Forums banner

Sprocket options for a 2004 Nicky Hayden edition from the Factory

3K views 17 replies 8 participants last post by  Ronin5H 
#1 ·
I did a little googling and looked around here... AND I think I know the answer... But, I just want to be sure and post this question to you all. I'm not a mechanic and don't do much work on my bikes. So, I rely mostly on my mechanic...

With that, a couple of weeks ago I had my mechanic replace my sprockets and chain because they were showing wear and needed to be replaced. Which they did, with the stock OEM sizes (16F,40R I think I would have to double check) for an 04 RC51. But, now my odometer is off on my commute to work and back by a a good 12 miles. Is that normal? or did the 04 Nicky Hayden edition come with different size sprockets than the standard RC51? I know that the bike was stock before we swapped them out. Because the bike currently does NOT have a speedo-healer, and I don't think you can fix that with a PCIII...

Depending on all of your response I will either suck it up and buy a speedo-healer or tell them they made an error and get them to put on the right parts.

Thanks!

#2 · (Edited)
The Hayden is not special. There is literally nothing about that bike mechanically that separates it from any other sp2, despite what the owners will tell you. It came with 16-40

Are you the original owner? Are you comparing the 12 mile difference vs actual or what you saw on your previous setup. Maybe they removed non stock gearing and you assumed it was OEM

Check what the guys put on your bike.

#3 · (Edited)
Thank you. Yes, that was the conclusion I came up with.