Stock injector capability, and tuning for turbo - Honda RC51 Forum : RC51 Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-20-2011, 09:20 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Stock injector capability, and tuning for turbo

Posted this in the modifications thread as well.

Just a few quick questions, I have some knowledge with turboing cars, I turboed my E36 about 2 years ago and it's been running great, TRM tune, 42lb injectors, Tubonetics 50 trim, etc... around 350whp.

Please don't flame me, and I'm not another guy just saying it's easy, I know what's involved, but I'd like to turbo my RC51.

I want more power, but I don't want to get rid of this thing, I love how it handles, feel, sounds, everything, just want some more power, and I love FI!

So, does anyone know what the stock fuel injectors can handle, and if a power commander is enough to tune for a turbo? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-21-2011, 03:01 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I think there was a thread in the past about this, unless it was on an other RC forum. The consensus I believe, if that matters, was not worth the try.
I suppose your E36 was a 2.5 l6 which helps plumbing. On a V and with the limited space you have a plumbing problem. Then on singles and twins you have an exhaust pulse that gives dirty flow to the turbo, so it only kicks in at much higher revs than you would expect. Also on bikes you already have high compression so you have to be careful with boost. The RC is pretty low at 10.8:1 but still.
A small highspeed supercharger may be more worthy of a project, but what do you get when you supercharge a wheelie bike? A bike that can't be handled with a swingarm less than 4'.
I think a naked bike like an FZ1, XJR, or ZRX, CBF, GSX might be better candidates for such a project.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-21-2011, 08:48 AM Thread Starter