2Likes
  • 2 Post By LDH®

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-08-2015, 05:44 PM Thread Starter
Lifetime Premium

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Rain tires

I'm sure some of you must have occasion to use rain tires at the track. We had some fair wet conditions this past Sunday and lots of riders were swapping to rains. I can see if you regularly run slicks or more track only tires, but would like input on those of you that do swap for rainy days. My 'stones did very well, but as I'm a novice and was certainly not pushing the conditions I did notice that the riders with the rain tires were having way more fun than I did and could explore more towards the performance edge.

Duct tape can't fix stupid...but it sure helps muffle the sound
'03 SP2, '09 GL1800
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-10-2015, 09:03 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I bought a Dunlop D616 performance tire from 4 Wheel Online. This is great it will surely add confidence riding/race while raining, but costing is a bit high.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-11-2015, 10:57 AM

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
As you are in the novice group currently I cannot justify the expense of proper rain tires for you. They are usually about $450 a set, they only work in very specific standing water conditions and do not last very long. They also have a very short shelf life even if you do keep them in dry, cool conditions etc.