RC51 Forums banner

Pay for a rework or do it myself?

5K views 26 replies 9 participants last post by  jondog9 
#1 ·
Trying to decide on what to do with some spring funds this year. I'll either be getting a new lens for my camera or getting some parts for the RC.

Assuming I'll be buying RC stuff, I'm trying to decide what is the best option for me. If I go with the Kyle racing 20mm kit, I'm at about $700. Or, I can buy the kit and new springs, seals, and spacers, plus the oil and all the tools. As I have never done front shocks before, it would be a learning experience. On top of that, I would then have most tools required to service my own forks, and would then be able to do seal replacements, oil changes, and other maintenance needs in the future. However, I would lose out on the spring modification and polishing described on the Kyle page.

I'm wondering what approach you guys would take? FWIW, never done a track day and don't plan to. I ride the bike to and from work and the occasional hour or two on weekends and when time allows in the summer. I live in Cleveland so the riding season is short to begin with.

#2 · (Edited)
IMO, if you plan on owning the RC51 for a long time and want to improve the bike, go with the suspension work. Although it seems to me with your riding notes, an upgrade is not needed in the literal sense, but maybe in the personal sense. If not in the personal sense either, save the $$ and get a lens for your camera. And if you plan to own the RC51 a long time, and want to do the upgraded suspension, while not cheap, may as well get the tools and learn to do it yourself since over the years it will be less expensive as your maintain the forks and change seals, etc. Plus even at the dealers I've seen half-a$$ed work.

The RC51 is the last priority I spend money on, though it is still a priority. I love photography. What do you shoot and what's the gear?

#3 ·