Jardine Exhaust - Honda RC51 Forum : RC51 Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-23-2010, 09:01 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Jardine Exhaust

Hello everyone! I'm new to the site as of today. I'm looking into purchasing an exhaust for my 03 and found this site. I have 28,000 some miles on my bike. I bought in new. I'm looking into a jardine exhaust, my bike is still stock, (go ahead laugh it up I know ridiculous) anyway I'm wondering if I need to purchase a programer with the exhaust to have it run correctly? I have K&N air filters now with the restrictors out. I would like to purchase a 15-41 chain kit also. I have no adverse effects from the filters. I understand all technical info, i have been a journeyman tech at Ford for 10 years so give it to me striaght. Just wondering what the limits of the bike are to self adjust with an exhaust without having to program it and dyno it.
I currently run a mixture of 111 leaded fuel and 93 unleaded. I have been running this for at least 3 years. I have noticed the responsiveness is smoother throught the rpm range, runs cooler at cruising speeds, but gets hot quickly at idle, or stop lights. Never exceeds 230 F though. Anyways any info that someone may have experienced over the years would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-23-2010, 11:14 PM

Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
The temperatures you report are roughly typical.
I average up to around 221 during stop and goes.
The fans kick in at 218 and cool it down to 205 in just a few minutes.
Once moving in town I usually see 205 to 209.
Out on the freeway or out in the country I've seen the temp drop to 179.

There's pretty much no adjustability for exhaust or intake changes stock.
The best bet is to get a power commander PCIIIUSB and dyno the bike.