• 1 Post By CapeCodderRC
  • 1 Post By 10THbikE

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-21-2017, 02:53 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Garage
Ohlins 832 and BST install help

Got a set of BSTs last year after selling my 07 600RR. Just ordered for 02 RC51 and didn't consider my R&T forks would be an issue. I've been modifying my bike for the last 2 years a little bit at a time. The rear wheel went on no problem except I had to modify the Beringer low mount caliper but no big deal. So working my way to the front of the bike I just finished the battery relocate and moved my starter relay as well. So now I go to fit the front wheel and hey, it doesn't fit. I took out the right side wheel spacer provided by Ohlins and put the wheel in with the axle just to get an idea where everything fits, If the axle is positioned normal that is, at the line, it pushes the wheel off center and the rotor is touching the caliper sides. If I line up the wheel where the rotors are centered up in the calipers (eyeball. not measured) the axle will protrude from the left side and it appears I need around 7.4mm give or take at the spacer on the right. O.k., first did I miss something? Need some help from one of you that has already done this. How should I proceed or does anyone have a reasonably precise measurement for the right side axle spacer to set the wheel center? Or are there substitute parts that will work? So guys any help would be appreciated and if you happen to live in the SF bay area I will reciprocate if possible if you need help for motorcycle projects.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-21-2017, 06:50 PM
Lifetime Premium

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Garage
You need the Dan Kyle RED wheel spacer for the aftermarket wheels. About $54.I had to buy one to fit my BST to the 322 model fork.

-2001 Honda RC51 sp1 " Slightly Modified "
-2001 Honda 929RR Erion Edition
DuckHunterComposites