New RC51 owner in NC - Honda RC51 Forum : RC51 Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 01-11-2011, 07:34 AM Thread Starter
Lifetime Premium

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
New RC51 owner in NC

Hi, I'm Brad, and I'm stationed in Camp Lejeune, NC. I've been riding for roughly 23 years, just a bit longer than I've served in the Marine Corps (22 years). I've bought and sold more than I should have, and I've lost track of my bike count, but I think I'm on #14 and #15. I started on a 1986 Honda VF500, great little bike. I currently have a 2000 Yamaha V-Max and a 2003 Honda RC51. I bought the RC51 back in September as a replacement for the 2006 Suzuki GSXR1000 I destroyed when I crashed at VIR (training, not racing) in August. I've only been able to ride the RC51 a few times, since I'm still recovering from crash (and the winter weather hasn't been great either). I was planning on making the RC51 a track-only bike, but the one I bought looks fresh from the showroom. The previous owner treated the bike like it was his favorite son, and it was stored in a spare bedroom in his house rather than a garage. Anyway, given the bike is so clean, I'm not sure I want to risk destruction on the track, so I'm not yet committed to the track bike transformation. I look forward to learning from the RC51 owners on the forums, and hopefully I'll be able to contribute once in a while myself. Speed safely!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00039-20100815-1831.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	97.5 KB
ID:	994   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00045-20100815-1834.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	96.7 KB
ID:	995  

Last edited by bradvanhorn; 01-12-2011 at 04:09 PM. Reason: I added the two pics taken by the 1st owner right before I bought the bike.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 01-11-2011, 07:58 AM

Welcome to the forum Brad!

"Like a junkie trying to get his hands on the next fix,