Hi, I'm a newbie, getting RC tommorrow - Honda RC51 Forum : RC51 Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-01-2011, 07:12 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Smile Hi, I'm a newbie, getting RC tommorrow

Hi all, My mane is Roman, I'm a member of a few forums, this one is going to be a first one for a motorcycle.

I'll be going to look at and make an offer on a 2001 RC51 with 26,000 miles on it.
I'm hoping to hear what potential warning signs, noises and bike behavior I should watch out for when I take it on a ride to make my final decision tomorrow. Bike is being sold for 4,200.

I heard the bike run, its got a few imperfections, mostly due to age, no major cosmetic issues, never been dropped. I know that a chick used to commute on that machine daily to school. Some guidance will be appreciated, as I read through the forum. I'm a car mechanic, so feel free to dump a whole load of maintenance issues on me. I want to be armed to teeth with information tomorrow. Thanks!

This will be my 3rd sport bike.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-01-2011, 08:12 PM
Lifetime Premium

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
1st: That kind of money you can find one with MUCH lower miles. I paid $4700 for my 2003 with 4700 miles.

As for issues, stators are a nuisance at times. The early models had leaking gas tanks in the seam around the hinged area. (another expert will verify this for you soon)

Aftermarket exhaust are damn near impossible to find for the early RC's (I see this one has two brothers...)