Ohlins rear shock,Kyle linkage, 190-55 - Honda RC51 Forum : RC51 Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-2013, 12:05 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ohlins rear shock,Kyle linkage, 190-55

Hello. I apologize if this has already been stated one thousand times or if this is in the wrong place.
I am not a mechanic, nor am I well versed in suspension, so take this with a grain of salt.
I have a 2005 RC 51 that had a stock rear shock, stock linkage, and a 190-50 rear tire. The back end my bike seemed too low compared to the front and turn-in was suffering. So much of this effort was to address the geometry of the bike first and then to also improve handling by getting better suspension. I am aware that the front suspension still needs to be addressed.
I bought an Ohlins rear shock with remote preload adjuster, the Kyle USA linkage, and a 190-55 rear tire which is taller than the 190-50 and has a steeper profile.