RC51 Forums banner

Hello from Nashville

5K views 22 replies 11 participants last post by  Dcity 
#1 ·
Im new to the Nashville area. Recently moved here from Detroit area. Just purchased an RC51 a few months ago. Looking forward to lurking the forums and learning as much as I can.

#5 ·
Nice...i was stationed in fort campbell for 5 years, but spent every weekend on 1st ave and the riverwalk in nashville, used to go up the cement plant road to umm...oh nevermind :D

#7 · (Edited)
Thanks for the warm welcome.

A little about me, I'm 47 I grew up on motorcycles from the time i was about 14 when i met my step father. He had a Kawasaki 1300 6 cylinder with a Hannigan fairing and saddle bags. Wish i had some side view pictures of it. It was a BEAST.

I rode an RM 80 out in the woods and had a moped soon after.

Turned 16 and bought myself a 1984 RZ350 2 stroke. Learned to drive on the street with it. Took it to Detroit Dragway a few times. Low 12's when i could keep the front wheel on the ground.

Being 17 years old 6' and 180 pounds I had to get a bigger bike. So I bought a Honda VFR700 that i had until my late 20's. For a year or 2 it was my only transportation. Great bike, felt like a high center of gravity though. Still a lot of fun.

Through the years my step father had plenty of motorcycles at one point he had 5 in the garage. So i got to ride all different styles except Harleys. I never cared for the v-twin heh. Look at me now.

8 years ago my step father was diagnosed with cancer, 3 years later he passed., a year later my mother was diagnosed with cancer she passed in September. I have been the caregiver for the past 8 years and the whole time I just dreamed about getting out on the road again with a nice bike.