Sprocket change questions? - Honda RC51 Forum : RC51 Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 03-20-2013, 04:48 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Sprocket change questions?

Here's the story: i've owned my 2004 RC51 for about a year now, and I'm interested in changing the sprockets. I want to get into the power range a little sooner, have more grunt at lower speeds. i don't really care about top end speed-my Hayabusa can satisfy that need for me. I'm thinking about going to 15t front and 41t rear. So here's my questions:

1. Any tricks to getting to the front and taking it off? I can't seem to find any info on that.

2. Will the original chain still fit with this combo? The bike only has about 12,000 miles on it and the chain looks good--lots of life left in it.

3. Anything else I should know before taking on this project? i've changed chains and sprockets before so not a total newbie on this.

Thanks in advance to your help and advice!

In my garage: 2008 Hayabusa, 2004 RC51, 2007 Interceptor, 2006 VTX 1300, 2009 KLR 650, 2012 Can-Am Spyder
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 03-20-2013, 07:21 AM