Clutch lever feel - Honda RC51 Forum : RC51 Motorcycle Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 42 (permalink) Old 03-26-2014, 08:40 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Clutch lever feel

I am new to my 2000 rc and was wondering if it is normal for these bikes to have the clutch engage at the very far end of the lever travel. I bleed the system and cant seem to change it...thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 42 (permalink) Old 03-26-2014, 08:49 PM
Lifetime Premium

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
If you are absolutely sure that there's no air in the system and still the lever engages far from the grip, apart from adjusting your lever to wherever work better for you, you should open the clutch cover, take out the friction and metal clutch disks and measure them for recommended thickness according to the Service Manual.

Would also be very good is you took the clutch's slave cylinder apart and check the piston and it's seal for wear.

My Íhlins Project: https://www.rc51forums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6033
Quote:
Originally Posted by SubSailor View Post
Congratulation to MakisRC51 for winning the 2014 Bike Of The Year Contest!
post #3 of 42 (permalink) Old 03-26-2014, 10:31 PM
Lifetime Premium

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MakisRC51 View Post
If you are absolutely sure that there's no air in the system and still the lever engages far from the grip, apart from adjusting your lever to wherever work better for you, you should open the clutch cover, take out the friction and metal clutch disks and measure them for recommended thickness according to the Service Manual.

Would also be very good is you took the clutch's slave cylinder apart and check the piston and it's seal for wear.
Being a 2000, this is sage advice the clutch could be at the end of its service limit. As well, the clutch master cylinder has a spring and rubber parts that deteriorate with age.