SP2 headers on SP1 - Help. - Honda RC51 Forum : RC51 Motorcycle Forums
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-25-2015, 10:42 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
SP2 headers on SP1 - Help.

Newbie here, I know this has been asked a few times but I still can't find an answer.
I picked up a SP1 and the guy who sold it to me also spare SP2 headers and pipes.
The SP1 pipes are pretty rashed up and would like to switch over to the SP2 pipes. I need to use the SP2 headers to use the Sp2 pipes.

I've managed to put the rear SP2 exhaust link on but cant put on the front bit of the headers. If I put front bit of the headers I can't put on the rear,combined they dont work together. WTF how can I solve this?

I've read that people mill the flange but I can't see what needs to be milled.

I've read this topic (on speedzilla and this forum) on the differences between the SP1 and SP2 headers but not answering my issue.

Any help?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-26-2015, 12:09 PM

Quoted: 16 Post(s)
you have to cut the ends of the stock sp1 header and weld it onto the sp2 header.
post #3 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-26-2015, 12:10 PM

you may have issues with the sp1 swingarm and the exhaust

post #4 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-27-2015, 06:31 PM Thread Starter

Is there any other way around that? Some people seem to have got around this issue without welding the SP1 ends onto the SP2.
I have seen one solution where they have used the SP1 headers but cut and welded the X - link exhaust exit of the SP2 but I'd rather not go down that route.
post #5 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-27-2015, 06:37 PM

you're gonna have to cut and weld one way or another, unless you swap the heads on the bike to sp2 which is way more work.
post #6 of 42 (permalink) Old 07-28-2015, 01:40 AM

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC51SP View Post