1Likes
  • 1 Post By grumpus

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-09-2016, 07:53 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
running rough at low speed???

running rough at low speed???
Chaps, I'm a newbie so have very little knowledge of this bike, ps its also the first bike ive owned with fuel injection.
so i bought the bike this weekend and took it out for the first time monday night,the problem is its running real lumpy at low speed, it has a power commander fitted (pc3)
Im thinking ,because the bike has done very few miles in the last 2 years (300miles and 9miles respectively) that it could be just old fuel causing the issue?
im a very competant mechanic and have 4 other bikes that i tend to service myself so would the injection system bung up like a carb? if so how easy is it to tear apart and clean?
was thinking about sticking some sort of fuel system cleaner thru it and doing a few miles to see if it clears itself, taking it to the classic TT in two weeks so want it to be tickety boo for then.
details are 2000 sp1, 18 k miles all standard apart from power commander and yoshi slip on silencers.
thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-09-2016, 03:24 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
They are bad below 3000 rpm it does help lowering the gearing so at 30mph you are higher up in the rev range
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-09-2016, 05:12 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Garage
try checking your fpr, they tend to go bad on these bikes.

lovin' my little torque monster.

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-10-2016, 01:52 AM Thread Starter

FPR ????? what is this?
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-10-2016, 02:30 AM
Lifetime Premium

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Garage
Fuel Pressure Regulator
There is a thread on here if you search for it that will walk you through it.

Riding is what keeps you on your toes...
~BOTM - April 2016, May 2015, September 2014~