Honda RC51 Forum : RC51 Motorcycle Forums

Honda RC51 Forum : RC51 Motorcycle Forums (https://www.rc51forums.com/forums/)
-   Engine Work (https://www.rc51forums.com/forums/18-engine-work/)
-   -   Intermittent front head tick (https://www.rc51forums.com/forums/18-engine-work/14377-intermittent-front-head-tick.html)

Radrc51 04-09-2013 07:56 PM

Intermittent front head tick

Hey guys how's it going? I just. Bought 03 RC 51 bike is very nice has powercomander with k&n filters. And yosh system . I'm new to v twins. Bike has 22k on it . I'm very mechanically inclined . Just wanted to see what' you guys have seen on these engines . Basically cold starts sound ok riding with load on engine is ok. After I park it for 15 min then go to start the bike it has a front head tick for about 2min max then goes away . Some times it doesn't do it at all . Im Probley going to take it apart this weekend and check the clearances . And visual inspection of the cams ect..

madbuyer 04-09-2013 08:01 PM

I would still do the checks like you stated but I would also check the exhaust pipe flange bolts where they mount to the head. A little exhaust leak would give it a "tick" sound. These bikes vibrate and it spares no bolts/nuts that aren't periodically checked and loc-tite applied.:cool:

Radrc51 04-10-2013 01:20 AM

Yeah I just had the bike apart . Flushed out all the coolant and used engine ice. Then I changed the oil and used honda hp semi syn oil 10w40. & checked the air filters ect.. The bike is not a Cali bike. Had few owners the guy that sold it to lied and said he was the second owner bike came from oh to ms then Cali . Unless they replaced everything the bike sure don't look like its been ridden much at all

James_03_rc 04-10-2013 11:49 AM

I hate reading threads like this:confused: