RC51 Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
I bought a 2001 RC,as the title says it has about 26k on it. I just started riding it a few weeks ago, and it sat before that.
Aside from the Oil and filter change what should I expect to be replacing soon? I already had to put new rubber on it.
It has a PC3, It's up one tooth on the rear and it's GOT TO BE down one in the front. It needs a new chain and sprocket set for sure.
I think I'm going to go with a SuperSprox rear, RK chain and I'm open to suggestions for the front.
I'd also like opinions for gearing. I think I keep seeing 15/40 but I'm open.
It gets HOT here in Sacramento and my last 996 would hit 235 some days,
I want to do a SPAL conversion, and would like to know how many fans I could fit in there. I've seen a couple guys do 2x 5.2's but I've also seen one 6.5 in addition.
I'm not going to pretend like I'm an expert here, I like to handle things proactively so I would appreciate the help.

·
Super Moderator
6,481 Posts
Well at 36K miles (and at 16K miles intervals), you're looking at a valve clearance check/adjustment.
Every two years, change out the coolant.
On average, the typical final ratios are 15F/41 to 43R.
When you have the side cowls off, spin your fans and listen for any rubbing, squeaks, or tightness that may indicate fans rubbing on the radiators or possible fan bearings going bad.

The best thing to do, is to download the service manual here:
http://www.rc51.info/index.php?page=service

·
Premium Member
8,335 Posts
Start with the items Sub listed I would also change the fork fluid too.

The bikes are bullet proof for the most part. Stator and fuel pumps are what I see on here a lot. I believe the fuel pumps are due to the fact no one changes their fuel filters out with the regularity they should.

First things first...get the manual.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #4