RC51 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I recently purchased an RC, it's been my dream bike since I started riding, and I'm looking to upgrade some things. I've read a few threads and tried to research as much as possible about clip-ons but I figure the best way to find out what works well is to ask the riders.

So what do you prefer. Kyle Racing, Gilles, Vortex......who has input on what's worth the money and what just doesn't do well. I'm looking for either a different angle to take some weight of my wrists/palms or just an adjustable. Does anyone know the actual angle of the stock clip-ons? :confused:

·
Premium Member
899 Posts
I own the D.Kyle clip-ons on the 03' and Sato on the 06'.. and would like a little more ability of adjustment..
D.Kyle don't have the hinge in the middle of clip-on.. makes for more indepth installation..

·
Registered
264 Posts
I bought a set of Apex adjustable clipons from sportbiketrackgear. From my research they appear to adjust very similarly to the Dan Kyle/Sato units with the eccentric end of the clipon (for a lot less $$). Basically as you rotate the bar the downward angle can be adjusted. I've got mine set to a very neutral position, much flatter than stock especially when viewed from the front. I might play with more down angle once I start getting on track though. I can't comment on their crash-worthiness but replacement bars are only $14.95 fwiw.

The biggest issue is clearing the fairing when you start playing with the angles. It took some trial and error with the control locations before I could go lock to lock with out killing the engine or flipping on the high beam :)

Apex also makes a version that has a riser but I think somebody tried them on the 51 and quickly determined there wasn't enough clearance.

·
Premium Member
899 Posts
I bought a set of Apex