RC51 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to my 2000 rc and was wondering if it is normal for these bikes to have the clutch engage at the very far end of the lever travel. I bleed the system and cant seem to change it...thanks

·
Premium Member
3,239 Posts
If you are absolutely sure that there's no air in the system and still the lever engages far from the grip, apart from adjusting your lever to wherever work better for you, you should open the clutch cover, take out the friction and metal clutch disks and measure them for recommended thickness according to the Service Manual.

Would also be very good is you took the clutch's slave cylinder apart and check the piston and it's seal for wear.

·
Premium Member
8,335 Posts
If you are absolutely sure that there's no air in the system and still the lever engages far from the grip, apart from adjusting your lever to wherever work better for you, you should open the clutch cover, take out the friction and metal clutch disks and measure them for recommended thickness according to the Service Manual.

Would also be very good is you took the clutch's slave cylinder apart and check the piston and it's seal for wear.
Being a 2000, this is sage advice the clutch could be at the end of its service limit. As well, the clutch master cylinder has a spring and rubber parts that deteriorate with age.

This isn't bad news just turning out to be more maintenance that you may have expected.:cool:

·
Premium Member
3,239 Posts
I recently changed my slave cylinder's seal kit & piston and the improvement was dramatic.

I had installed new OEM friction and metal plates in the engine back in 2008 when I bought the bike and they have been used for 25.000km so far with no signs of wear at all.

·
Registered
219 Posts
Nature of the beast with a hydraulic clutch.
Play with it all you want. It's self adjusting so you'll end up where you started.
Plates might be worn.