RC51 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,697 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would love to get a pit pull trailer restraint system, but that's not in the finances right now. So I've been thinking to fab up a eyelet, that would thread onto the unused portion of the through bolt/threaded rod of the frame slider, to be used as a tie down point.

With my current sliders I have about 1" to 1-1/4" of the threaded rod that sticks out past the nut inside the slider its self. For the left side I would need an internal threaded rod about 3-1/4" long and one 2-1/4" long for the right. For the eyelet i would use a full machined eye bolt. I've already thought to get a high tensile steal threaded rod to replace the one that came with my sliders, I'm sure that this one is just plane mild steal.

Does anyone for see any problems with doing this?

Thanks for any help and insight,
James

·
Premium Member
1,904 Posts
I'm no engineer or mill-rite or anything, but I just wouldn't do it. Don' think th erod is big or heavy duty enough to handle that kind of load at a constant pressure and extended time. Canyon dancer and/or double loop ended straps with ratchet tie-downs attached to the triple trees/bars and swing arm.

·
Banned
3,636 Posts
I'm no engineer or mill-rite or anything, but I just wouldn't do it. Don' think th erod is big or heavy duty enough to handle that kind of load at a constant pressure and extended time. Canyon dancer and/or double loop ended straps with ratchet tie-downs attached to the triple trees/bars and swing arm.
I'd have to agree...the tried and true method works is proven and if you already have the straps doesn't cost in time or money.

·
Premium Member
8,335 Posts
I'd pass. Just due to that being a lower are of the bike. Lower triple tree and rear foot peg brackets are my traditional area to mount her down.;)

·
Premium Member
2,697 Posts
Discussion Starter #5