RC51 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an 2000 RC51 SP1, I am new to this bike, only have had it for a couple of months. After I went riding one day I took off the rear seat/cover and it was very hot in the compartment below the seat/cover. it seemed to be coming from an electrical box maybe a transformer on the left side of the rear tail. Has anyone had this occur and is it a problem or just something that I am not used to yet? Please any advice would be great thank you.

·
Premium Member
6,481 Posts
The finned box is the voltage regulator/rectifier.
While they can get hot (reason for cooling fins), I don't think they should get super hot.

They have been known to fail due to overheating, causing either no current to the battery or over-charging of the battery.

I'd grab a digital ohmmeter, and with the bike switched on and running, and with high-beam on, check the voltage across the battery posts with the bike at 4500 RPM.
You should get around 14.5V DC. It should NOT exceed 15.5V DC.

·
Registered
215 Posts
^ I have always noticed how hot my rectifier would get (to hot to touch), so I just measured my voltage as you suggested around 4500 rpm. I am getting about 15.1V. I wonder if my rectifier is on the way out the door? I should probably do the upgrade.

·
Premium Member
6,481 Posts
Try it again with the revs at 5000 RPM.
If it gets up to 15.5v, it's time to replace the rectifier/regulator.
That 15.5v can damage the battery.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
^ I have always noticed how hot my rectifier would get (to hot to touch), so I just measured my voltage as you suggested around 4500 rpm. I am getting about 15.1V. I wonder if my rectifier is on the way out the door? I should probably do the upgrade.
What is the upgrade you are referring to? I would like to know more about that, Thank you

·
Registered
8,655 Posts