RC51 Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
858 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a SP1 I was looking to rebuild the front master cylinder. During the research I discovered the SP1 master and calipers have bigger pistons than the SP2.

·
Registered
606 Posts
That's interesting. Does anyone here with experience with both Sp1's and Sp2's know if there's a performance difference with the brakes between the two bikes?

·
Premium Member
3,237 Posts
It's a fact that the SP1 caliper pistons are bigger. I know I've read it before in this forum from @SubSailor @LDH and other fellas...
Obviously, Honda went with smaller pistons on the SP2 for weight savings.

However, if you need to find out which setting has more powerful bite on the rotors, it's not only about the piston diameter you need to know about but the m/c piston diameter and the relative stoke of each piston when engaged

Like I've mentioned in previous post:

·
Premium Member
439 Posts
I'm new to these bikes, so please feel free to verify anything I say.

I've read, and been told, that they are different. The SP-1s were 2mm larger at the caliper and the master cylinder. The front rotors are also 0.5mm thinner on the SP-1s.

Is the SP-1 better? Doubt it for an average rider, one can argue the SP-1 is superior from a braking power standpoint. The SP-2s were basically SP-1s with all the revisions learned racing the SP-1s. In the end this might be a difference without a distinction for most riders. Unless you are used to pushing limits on the front brakes going into turns and can feel the feedback at the lever, doubt most of us mere mortal riders will be able to tell.

That said, I'm planning to upgrade my master cylinders in the hopes feeling the feedback more. I have an SP-1, so I'm going with a 19mm master.

Just my 2 cents, which is about what it might be worth.

·
Registered
1,628 Posts
being bored, i crunched the #s

the sp1 overall caliper/master ratio is 23.986