RC51 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,189 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, have the oppurtunity to buy some moriwaki stage 1 cams. I've never done cams on a bike before, anyone have any experiences with this and what kind of gains and/or issues that could come up? will reliability be severly degraded? is this only recommended for bikes with big bore kits or BIG engine mods? how is the powerband affected?my bike is equipped with turnone snorkel/airbox, pc III, Ethos design exhaust
, and scotts ignition coil stick conversion.

Also is there any difference between the moriwaki rear suspension linkage and the Dan Kyle ones? seem like Dan's are a lot cheaper but i have not heard of any differences between the two.

Thanks for the help guys.

·
Super Moderator
6,481 Posts
The Stage 1 cams have a bit more lift and duration than the OEM cams, and are milder than the Stage 2 cams.
You would see a bit more power mostly at the upper RPM range.
They should work well with aftermarket full exhaust and airbox.
Reliability should be ok since your bike will still have the OEM hard rev limit and not the higher rev limit of the HRC ECU.
I don't have the exact specs on the Moriwaki cams (lift/duration) since these cams were discontinued and are hard to find.

I have seen photos of the Moriwaki link and it matches the Kyle link, who copied the dimensions from the Moriwaki link.
The HRC link has the same dimensions as the Moriwaki link, but requires an eyelet lower shock mount vs the clevis mount the OEM and aftermarket shocks use.

From what I understand, you'll need to change out the springs, seats, and possibly the retainers to use the cams.
The springs are a different wind that allows the buckets to travel farther down the bore for the extra cam lift without binding. The seats also work with the springs in this as well.