RC51 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Just came home with 2002 RC51 SP2 with 17K miles. Been on my bucket list for years.

I have been riding for 20 yrs. This is hands down my most exciting and powerful bike I ever rode. Torque monster. Amazing sound!

Pros.
-The engine!
-The engine and the engine.
-Fuel injected.
-The LCD Speedo
-Overbuilt!
-Soul

Cons.
-The ride. Super stiff! (SINCE LEARNED Front forks needed overhaul) 300.00
-The weight from being overbuilt.
Twitchy throttle = Rubber bushings MISSING in rear wheel Hub! Getting fixed now. 65.00

What should I do to improve the bike? Where can I get an PDF file for the manual? Thanks in advance for any advice on preserving and improving this great bike.

·
Registered
139 Posts
Welcome to the addiction! :grin2:

I actually have never gotten used to the digital display, I'm old-school in that respect, I like gauges. Everything else you mentioned, though, is awesome, and just remember as you're grinning from ear to ear from the acceleration that the extra weight is there to beef up the frame to keep it from twisting as the dragon of a powerplant tries to tear itself free >:)

Another improvement I can recommend is an HRC quick-ratio throttle tube. It made the whole machine feel more controlled and less twitchy, admittedly the opposite of what I expected when I installed it. Cheap and quick to install, too.

Reactions: jondog9

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
This bike hates being under 30mph. It's like wtf. Man up.

My speedo is 10% too fast also.

Today I went to my Honda Dealership. Looked at all the new bikes and the prices. Wtf. Cheap looking and insane prices. 18k for cbr1000? 12k for 600rr. I'll keep my rc51 and upgrade it.

·
Premium Member
208 Posts