RC51 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I'm Brad, and I'm stationed in Camp Lejeune, NC. I've been riding for roughly 23 years, just a bit longer than I've served in the Marine Corps (22 years). I've bought and sold more than I should have, and I've lost track of my bike count, but I think I'm on #14 and #15. I started on a 1986 Honda VF500, great little bike. I currently have a 2000 Yamaha V-Max and a 2003 Honda RC51. I bought the RC51 back in September as a replacement for the 2006 Suzuki GSXR1000 I destroyed when I crashed at VIR (training, not racing) in August. I've only been able to ride the RC51 a few times, since I'm still recovering from crash (and the winter weather hasn't been great either). I was planning on making the RC51 a track-only bike, but the one I bought looks fresh from the showroom. The previous owner treated the bike like it was his favorite son, and it was stored in a spare bedroom in his house rather than a garage. Anyway, given the bike is so clean, I'm not sure I want to risk destruction on the track, so I'm not yet committed to the track bike transformation. I look forward to learning from the RC51 owners on the forums, and hopefully I'll be able to contribute once in a while myself. Speed safely! :)

Attachments

·
Registered
105 Posts
Welcome to the forum Brad!

·
Premium Member
6,480 Posts
Welcome to the group!!
I may be sentimental, but if the bike is as pristine as your say, it would be a shame to risk trashing it on the track.
Not only do they not make these things anymore, but the cost of locating/replacing parts will be a lot higher than say a Gixxer.
It would be far easier to buy another I-4 and track it. Then use the RC51 to ride on the street.

·
Registered
210 Posts
Welcome and congrats on the bike! Im in garner and ride with a buncha nc based riders. If your ever in the raleigh area feel free to hit me up.

·
Premium Member
2,697 Posts