RC51 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I finally have managed to find the bike I have wanted for 10 years! A clean 2005 with low miles.
The previous owner has done some work. Supposedly stahl fans, the fan switch mod and other cosmetics.

so I took the bike out for my first ride, on the highway, it got up to 230 while doing atleast 70 miles an hour?!?!?!

When I got off the highways and encountered street traffic... damn thing shot up to 250?!?!?!?!?!?

So I pulled over and turned it off.. waited about 20 mins and returned home?

Did I buy a brick? did I do harm to the engine? (it seemed to run fine when restarted).

Any thoughts.. any feedback would be greatly appreciated. I love the bike.. don't know what to do here. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
185 Posts
Welcome to the RC51 community.

I'm not an expert in this area, but there are a few things you should check. Firstly, the RC should not reach 230 at 70 mph. It will be around 190ish on a not so hot day. What did the previous owner say?

-test/change engine/water temperature sensor! It may be that simple; if the sensor is faulty.
-Check radiator fluid level
-Flush system
-Change radiator fluid
-Burp the system to get the air out
-check to make sure the cap closes properly. It needs to prevent air from getting in.
-test the fans (were they on when you pulled over?)(should not need fans at high speed)
-test direction of fan flow (OEM fans blow air from the inside out, which can cancel air flow around 30mph. More powerful fans may cancel air flow at higher speeds. Aftermarket fans are commonly used to reverse the flow of OEM for this reason, so the work well at all speeds)
-remove fans to make sure the rad fins under the fans are okay (common damage with Stahl fans)

At the heart of the issue; something is preventing cool rad fluid from reaching the engine, and with some diligence you will figure it out.
-

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #3