RC51 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The bike idles , free revs but when I try to accelerate it just dies till I let off throttle. Any ideas ? I am a mechanic and have a shop manual, but I'm stumped fpr is good , has flapper mod . Will map do this ? It is an 04 sp2 low miles....

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No squirrel nest lol. Two into one pipe . It gives a two blink code for map, vacuum lines all good, tank vent clear, fresh fuel. I worked for honda dealer in early nineties, owned first hawk by on east coast, miss it now. This rc is stock except for pipe and flapper mod. I have rebuilt it from a wreck. I am very thorough, new plugs etc. I suspect map sensor or coil breakdown, asking here before I spend more $

·
Premium Member
2,325 Posts
replace fuel pressure regulator, check your grounds, clean plugs, check battery.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Hey I know this is a tough one. I've already read many of your threads before I even registered. I've been wrenching for over 30 years, I build race cars now. Have dealt with many types of injection. I'm not a novice...but welcome fresh input as I am new to this rc51 thing. I ride a 98 cbr1100xx blackbird..

·
Premium Member
6,480 Posts
The bike idles , free revs but when I try to accelerate it just dies till I let off throttle. Any ideas ? I am a mechanic and have a shop manual, but I'm stumped fpr is good , has flapper mod . Will map do this ? It is an 04 sp2 low miles....
Interestingly enough, my VFR800 started sporadically acting this way yesterday.
Would idle just fine, but would sputter and die if the throttle was rotated off idle.
After a moment, it would resume running just fine.
Will be troubleshooting later this weekend.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #12