RC51 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I ordered the fiberglass Pit-Eck Fairings off Ebay. The price seemed right: 270+55s&h. They don't come painted, only primered. My buddy is a decent painter, so that's what I was going to do anyway. I will be posting the play by play with these plastics throughout the process. Tonight, when I get home from school, I will post pictures of how they came and possible flaws/merits that I see.

As for my initial impressions, I took them out of the box at the post office, because the box didn't fit in my car. The plastics seemed sturdy. They're not excessively flexible, but flexible enough. They're exceptionally light, as you would expect with fiberglass. The quality seems to be pretty good, in my initial, untested, opinion. However, I've had extensive experience with china plastics in the past.

The upper comes with the mounts for the headlights. However, the lowers don't have the brackets for the lower vee, those will have to be fabricated. Also, the view port for the rear brake reservoir is not there, but there's a spot for it on the tail, and all that's needed is a dremel and a steady hand. Otherwise, all the bolt holes are there, and they seem to be reinforced with extra resin/glass.

That's all I got for now, pics and follow-on posts regarding workability and fitment to come.

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #2