RC51 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,904 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sure some of you must have occasion to use rain tires at the track. We had some fair wet conditions this past Sunday and lots of riders were swapping to rains. I can see if you regularly run slicks or more track only tires, but would like input on those of you that do swap for rainy days. My 'stones did very well, but as I'm a novice and was certainly not pushing the conditions I did notice that the riders with the rain tires were having way more fun than I did and could explore more towards the performance edge.

·
Registered
2,248 Posts
As you are in the novice group currently I cannot justify the expense of proper rain tires for you. They are usually about $450 a set, they only work in very specific standing water conditions and do not last very long. They also have a very short shelf life even if you do keep them in dry, cool conditions etc.

I recommend Michelin Pilot Power tires as they can handle a ridiculous amount of lean angle in wet conditions and can go from dry to wet back to dry with no changes in tire pressure. When I was instructing they were my go to tire. I didn't have to use tire warmers and they work excellent all the way up to mid A-Group trackday pace. One caveat however is you have to have them fully scrubbed before the rain hits the track. If you try to go out on a set of unscrubbed Pilot Powers in the wet they are like riding on teflon sprayed with PAM. You'll never get the protective coating scrubbed off of them without the abrasion of a dry track.

Rain tires on my wifes 1000RR, Pilot Powers on mine - Same conditions

·
Premium Member
1,904 Posts
Discussion Starter #4