RC51 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I've been riding sportbikes for about 5 years. I currently have an 08 Yamaha R1 but I've been looking for something "different" to complement it. I am very attracted to the RC51 and its V-twin motor.

Problem is, I'm 6'5 260# with rather long legs. A big part of fitment on a bike for me is the shape of the tank and the location of the footpegs. Specifically, I need to be able to get my knees comfortably fit in the tank grooves.

If I'm sitting in a relatively "neutral" position with my heels pushed down, I can barely fit my knees properly into the grooves on the tank, but if I raise my heels even slightly (i.e. to put weight more on the balls of my feet), my knees are out of position and the shape of the tank pushes out on my thighs.

I thought maybe rearsets would help, but looking at the various rearset options available, it seems that most of them move the pegs UP as well as back. While moving back would help, moving UP would exacerbate the fitment problem. And even if they did move straight back some, it looks as though my boots would be resting right on the exhaust.

Are any of you RC riders tall/long-legged? How are you working with the bike? Have you modified it? Do you know what I'm talking about?

Am I just too tall/long-legged for an RC51?

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
6,486 Posts
Yeah the RC51 is a relatively compact bike.
Pretty much all rearsets are oriented to track use, so they will tend to move your peg location up and/or back.
I'm 5'11" and it seems to suit me very well.

Your height of 6'5" falls way outside the "standard" design dimensions for most bikes, which I believe is around 5'10" and 150 Lbs for weight.

About the only company I knew that had practically infinite adjustable rearsets for the RC51 (Cycle Cat) ceased manufacture last year, and only just recently started making rearsets for very limited bikes (Ducati). They would've been the ones for you.