RC51 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,188 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, so i'm thinking about purchasing the the coil stick kit from scotts. I've heard of guys doing this with 2007 CBR parts. Has anyone fitted this to their bike or have any insight into it. Better start up? more reliable then the coils? what exactly does it replace and what is the install like? any knowledge on this system would be appreciated.thanks ahead of time.

·
Registered
332 Posts
Weight loss and newer generation coils. Scott always makes great stuff. It's a pretty easy mod I've heard good things about. Hit Scott up, he's a great guy and always willing to help RC fans! :)

·
Premium Member
3,188 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
cool, i may just end up sending him an email. thanks for the help, Ben.

·
Premium Member
3,188 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
talked to Scott. here is his reply for anyone maybe looking at this mod or may just be interested.

I have been running this kit for 3 years with no problems. The bike seems to start easier to me and changing plugs is a lot easier since the wire unplugs from the coil which is hard plastic and not soft rubber. The kit weigh 9oz less and take up a 1/4 of the space and comes with everything needed to use including instructions which isnt very hard to install at all since you only have to remove your old coils and hook up 4 wires. The kits are in stock and can be bought at my online store at http://store.scottsms.com/RC51-2000-2006_c82.htm?page=all

i'm going to purchase the kit and will post any significant updates.

·
Registered
284 Posts
I did this mod during the winter, havent ridden much with them yet, and did a bunch of other mods at the same time, so cant really tell if they made a difference themselves.

Other than saving some weight, and getting rid of those damn coils for a cleaner install.