RC51 Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been scouring the internet for the past 6 months - forums and parts suppliers worldwide - and a chain slider for an SP1, specifically p/n# 52170-MCF-000, seems to now be completely unobtainable. I have even placed 3x orders through well-known parts suppliers (one in the US, one in Japan, and one in the Netherlands) that were showing as available on their websites, but each time had my order canceled and refunded due to unavailability. This is somewhat surprising because this is definitely a wear item that will either wear out due to use or simply decay and crack/fall apart with age & exposure...and the bike is essentially un-rideable without one. I have examined the SP2 p/n# 52170-MCF-D30 and found it to be very different and not useable on the SP1. I also looked at other Honda models from the era - 929RR, CBR600F4, etc. and none of their chain sliders will work either.

My current slider is holding together with some spit and glue but I cringe every time I go out and ride now because I'm always wondering if this will be the ride it decides to let go. So I guess my questions is, once your chain slider deteriorates, what options - other than swapping to an SP2 swing arm - are available to keep one's bike from becoming a really cool piece of garage art?

· Registered
159 Posts
Sorry to hear of your troubles fatty, this is an issue that has been cropping up on this site more and more lately. I find this situation rather curious because I currently own a’72 Honda CB750K2 and can still find consumable wear type parts from the factory. Now, I understand that the CB sold for much longer and in far greater numbers than the SP-1. I also understand that Honda is in business to make money but you would think that they would try to provide at least the consumable parts needed to keep these machines running. I wish you luck.

· Registered
83 Posts