RC51 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I’ve been browsing forums for about two months looking for someone who has had the same problem but I may be alone on this one. Looking to get some fresh ideas on this issue.

Bought an SP1 from a mechanic who got her running after she was wrecked on the track. The last problem he had ended up being a wire shorting against the frame causing the bike to stall. After I purchased the bike and 3 months of happy riding The FI light would come on when I’d hit a bump and it would stall for about 2 seconds then kick back to normal. This progressed over the next week to the point it would just stall every 10 feet or so making it more of a bucking bronco then a bike.

Cleared the stored codes and now I’m getting no fresh codes. I’ve checked all the wires and can’t find anything that would be shorting against the frame. I took the plugs out, cleaned them, and it seemed to clear the problem for about a month. Ordered new plugs, but problem still exists.

The bike idles fine, can lay on the throttle, shake it, it, and nothing will cause it to stall until you ride it, especially riding a bump or the such on back roads, highway isn’t as bad.
I’m out of ideas here other than combing every wire on the bike. :confused:

·
Registered
159 Posts
It seems like I'm always saying this but, man one time I'm gonna be right..lol

I would try cutting the wires to your kickstand switch and splicing them together. I have seen this happen on many different bikes of all makes and models. The safety switch goes bad and it gets worse and worse over time. It also could be that the spring on the kickstand is not holding the stand up all the way and it's getting weaker and weaker as time goes by and when you hit a bump, the stand goes down just enough to cut the ignition for a second then the bike bump starts itself back up.

Keep us in the loop.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Enough lurking...