RC51 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Everytime I take her for a spin it struggles to stay at a constant RPM. For example; when I get on the freeway and try to stay at a steady speed it lurches on me and the RPMs jump around. I recently purchased a power commander as well but I did not get the disc for it, can I find the maps and stuff I need online? Also, I know nothing about fuel injection cause this is my first fuely bike and I am not very tech savvy. Any help fellas? Thanks..

·
Premium Member
8,335 Posts
Tell us more about your bike....post some pictures too. What kind of exhaust are you running?

Did it do this before the PC was installed?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Stock everything. Yes it was doing this studdering thing before the I put the PC in. I was hoping the PC would help smooth it out but it didn't change anything so I'm not sure if I did it right.

·
Registered
382 Posts
What RPMs are you trying to stay at? mine does the same thing at low RPMs. (also new to fuel injection) I have already found out that while it sounds great and can cruise at 3k under slight load without problem, at 5k, it rides a lot nicer.

·
Registered
1,294 Posts
Pulled the plugs to inspect them yet?

·
Super Moderator
6,481 Posts
As mentioned by f3racer, out of the box, the power commander unit is at a "zero setting" with no changes being made to alter air/fuel ratios.
The act of altering the base setting via importing a saved map or creating a custom map via a series of dyno runs is what alters your fuel metering.

These bikes generally don't care much for putting below 3500 RPM, and especially below 3000 RPM (Harleys they ain't).
At low RPMs and in lower gears (3rd or below), they can easily get into very jerky or lurching motion through a combination of flywheel inertia and multiplication of force by the lower gearing selection.