RC51 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I am new to the RC51 game, I am a heavier rider , around 260#, so I need some feedback on a good tire for street riding. Looking at the Michelin Power and Rocky Mountain has them for $216/pair shipped. Looks like a decent tire that has good lean angles and grip. Any pros or cons? I am picking up the bike today and already know it will need a rear tire soon...

·
Premium Member
8,335 Posts
Lots of folks use them, I like the BT 0016 from Bridgestone. Thats a good price and probably wouldn't turn away from it.

Try a 190/55 rear, its a taller profile that helps the RC steer better.

·
Registered
198 Posts
Powers

Pilot powers last good and plenty grip! My2 cents :) Hoovy

·
Registered
609 Posts
I've been riding since I was a kid and used to do a lot of track days back in England. Can't do any at the moment as I got fat since moving to the US and can't fit in my leathers anymore. Lol. Anyhow, for the average rider, I don't think it matters what tyre you get, I find it more important to find a pressure that suits your riding best. If you do a lot more straight runs with little curves, keep the pressure higher. If you like more curves, drop the pressure until you find your comfort zone. Just remember, the lower the pressure, the quicker you will need to replace your tyres. That's just my 2 cents, 2 pennies anyway.

·
Super Moderator
6,483 Posts
I used to run Pirelli Corsa III, but Pirelli priced me out of their game.
At the time, Michelin was also very proud of their tires and I couldn't afford them either.

I tried alternatives, such as Bridgestone BT-016 and Continental SportAttack.
The BT-016s were hard to beat for price. They may still be the lowest price performance tire.
The Conti SportAttacks were a pretty good tire too. Especially in the wet.

When the Dunlop Q2s came out, I decided to try them and was impressed.
They reminded me of the Corsa IIIs in behavior.