RC51 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,697 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've done my research and read most everything that I could find about the performance benefits a Power Commander III USB gives. But have not been about to find the answers to these questions to help me decide. It's also kind of a money thing for me; will I be happy with the $200-$300 I've spent? I know that one is all on me to answer.

My questions are;

Is a Power Commander really worth it for a street RC?

Will not having the FI remapped cause engine problems? I.E. running lean?

I have done the free mods, a set of Micron(high) and Jardine(low) slip-ons.

I'm new to riding and mod'n sportbikes and just looking for some insite from our resident experts and the ones who have gone this path before me.
Thanks for the help.
James

·
Super Moderator
6,481 Posts
Thats another thing...I havent been able to find a dyno/tuner in my area. Whats average "ball park" cost for a dyno and tune? I know it will change from shop to shop.
The closest Dynojet facility shown on their map is about an hour from you:
M & M Cycles
1238 Pony Farm Rd
Jacksonville , 28540
Phone : 910-347-4050

The ballpark is around $400 give or take.

·
Registered
58 Posts
It's worth the money. Stock, the RC runs lean just off-idle to meet EPA specs and has a flat spot around 5500rpm. The PC3 and an hour on a dyno will cure that.

·
Super Moderator
6,481 Posts
Sub,
Thanks for the contact info, just called M&M $30 for a dyno run and $60hr for tuning. I was thinking it was going to be a bit more expensive. My only experience is when a buddy of mine had his turbo'd Civic dyno tuned for like $2k.
Make sure you deliver the bike with a full tank. It will use most of it during the dyno runs.

·
Premium Member
3,189 Posts
usually will run you around 200-300 for a tune all said and done (not including the powercommander of course). its really not as expensive as people make it out to be.

·
Premium Member
2,697 Posts