RC51 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2001 RC51, 2018 Aprilia Tuono
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I just picked up an abused 2001 RC51 for a fair price, and the plan is to turn it into a trackday special. It wasn't much more than a crappy SV650 would have been, though it'll need a lot of love and luck to make the best of it...

I've been riding for about 20 years, though mostly commuting and street riding in that time. My past bikes include an '88 Honda Hawk GT, 2008 ZX-14 and 2007 ZX-10R. Aside from the RC, I also own a 2018 Aprilia Tuono RR with K-Tech suspension front and rear.

Having recently moved from BC to a part of Ontario with very few good twisties nearby (and the roads that are good have insanely low limits, lots of cops, and are crowded), I've decided to spend a lot more time at the track as a way to get my cornering fix. The Tuono does that surprisingly well, but insurance here is non-existent for anything track related, so the next logical step was to get something less expensive to crash and more suited to purpose, hence the RC51. I wanted torque and stable handling as I'm a big guy, and a 600 needs to be screaming at all times to drag my butt around.

Wish me luck, and I'll be posting soon with some questions about how best to proceed with a 20 year old bike with limited aftermarket support!

·
Registered
2003 Honda RC-51
15 Posts
This bike was not on Kijiji for that long, I was trying to decide if I was okay with the fairings. Byt the time i decided to message the seller, it was gone! I ended up picking up the SP2 that was listed in Limoges with around 24000 miles. (California bike) Listed just two days after that one was. Grats on your bike though! I work for a Honda powerhouse dealer in Ottawa if you ever need anything.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3