RC51 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am planning to do a track day with a few buddies in a couple of months. I am in the process of purchasing full leather gear. I have been riding a long time but I'm still fairly new to sport bikes. I am wandering if bringing a 1000CC super sport to the track for a first day is a bad idea or if I should hold out and purchase a 600cc something or another. I do want to do a rebuild on this bike it has some previous crash damage. I do not want to bring it to the track if I rebuild it incase I do happen to go down. I am thinking if I decide I like track days I am probably going to get a dedicated track bike. So should I hold off on the track day or go for it?

·
Registered
159 Posts
Go for it, just don't treat your first track day like it's a race. The amount you learn on the track will amaze you. Do not "try" to go fast or worry about keeping up with anyone and you will have a great time. Pick some one who you know has got to be slower than you (like a 250 ninja or something lol) and follow them. Then you can concentrate on being smooth and not worry too much about the speeds.

What track are you going to?

·
Premium Member
3,191 Posts
yeah definitely do it. just take it easy and learn. once you get your RC all fixed up and pristine, then go get another one for the track......or you could always just buy a set of race fairings for the track.

·
Premium Member
11 Posts
Go ahead and take the plunge. You will be hooked once you have experienced the track. Take your time and concentrate on being smooth. Ask a lot of questions and post them here as you should get a lot of feedback. Talk to your control riders and ask advice from them while at the track.

Take the RC and enjoy it. If you like it on the track, get some race fairings or find a dedicated track bike.